breakfast, Clean Eating, Recipe

Homemade Two-Ingredient Coconut Yogurt

I’ve never been a yogurt person… until about 2 weeks ago when I tried homemade yogurt for the first time. Coconut yogurt, actually. It is in a league of its own, y’all.

To be completely honest, I was pretty intimidated to try to make it myself, and the idea of milk sitting out on my counter for days…. ewww. But I’m so glad I did! I want every.last.bite. And if I can make it, you can too!

No fancy equipment needed – just two ingredients and some patience!

Here are the details:

Ingredients:

-1 can of full fat coconut milk (I used BPA free and organic. Note: I have tested with 365 Organic and Thai Kitchen Organic. I had the most success with 365 Organic.)

-2 Probiotic capsules (I have with tested Renew Life Ultimate Flora which I ordered from Amazon. Note: Any good quality probiotic works, just be sure it does not include prebiotics.)

Method:

1. Pour coconut milk into a clean glass jar (like a mason jar).

2. Pour contents of probiotic capsules on top of coconut milk and mix well with a wooden spoon.

3. Cover with a cheese cloth or paper towel and wait. Allow to sit on your counter for 24-48 hours.

4. Once your yogurt has activated, place in refrigerator to thicken and chill.

Can be consumed for up to 7 days.

It’s so thick and creamy. I like mine plain in a yogurt bowl, but you can add fruit, vanilla extract or maple syrup… the possibilities are endless!

Let me know if you try it!

Leave a comment